Pushing the envelope-immediate release of New photographs

Painted Body photography series 27 RC Trust African Cloth 10-15-09 Melissa Weiss Steele

Painted Body photography series 27 RC Trust African Cloth 10-15-09 Melissa Weiss Steele

Painted Body photography series by Melissa Weiss Steele 27 RC Trust African Cloth 10-15-09 231

OK, so this is really big for me. I have had mixed feelings about being “seen” in this lifetime. I have cloistered myself and my work, and that time of exile is OVER. I did the work above yesterday. Very very few people have ever seen my images so quickly. I am heading into a new era where I release my work and let it flow into its own destiny.

I had a dream about dropping two earthen pucks of soil into a river channel where many pathways were meeting. After I tossed them in I wanted to retrieve the two discs, but realized it might be difficult since they probably melted back into the flow. I considered getting the farmer who owned these irrigation ditches to block the flow so I could scoop back up the two potentials I had offered to the Water Spirits. I then realized it was all OK and I would let them go, it was all good. It would be what it would be. So this is my version of letting those destinies merge with the greater river and be in peace.

My good friend and inspiration, The Word Shaman Sonya Lea says when the work is ready  she likes to turn it around quickly so it does not become stagnant. I really heard that when we were doing her transformative Wild Work coaching together and have taken it to heart. {more on Sonya’s important role in the beginning of The Oracle of Initiation divination deck later…}

So today I have turned over a new, vibrant, glowing cottonwood leaf …here is work I just finished, bless it all and thank you to all my Ancestors and Spirits, and this sacred, sacred New Mexico land that calls me and my creative Spirit. Mille Grazie Kwahu Abeja

Leave a Reply

