Seattle Art Museum REMIX and Elles: women artist “take over”

We had a delightful time at the Seattle Art Museum Remix last night. It is a big shin dig of an event that features different bands, performances and kitschy experiences to engage more deeply in the institutionalization of art. This event was especially important because the museum has chosen to highlight a blaring issue in the sanctified art world. Women barely exist. SAM has chosen to look at this issue by showing Elles: Women Artists from the Centre Pompidou in Paris and then their permanent collection is only the ladies as well.

I am not generally an angry feminist, but some things just piss me off. And it’s not “men” I am mad at, but patriarchy.  The systems that keep many groups of people marginalized with less access to resources to live and create.

People doing art in PUBLIC!

So these are some fun pictures from the event, but when I go to see the show on a quiet Tuesday morning {before January 13th, 2013 when it closes}, I will be wrestling with the fact that I am in a career that has had the grand daddy of glass ceilings, and I get to hold my vision for that to shift for all of us. So big love to blowing up the rigid columns of the old segregated paradigms in any ways they operate. {yes, I am still punk rock at heart}.

My beloved camels with double exposure!

  2 comments for “Seattle Art Museum REMIX and Elles: women artist “take over”

  1. durella sherman
    November 12, 2012 at 12:42 am

    we miss you, thanks for keeping me up on you exciting life , love Dodi

    ________________________________

    Like

    • November 12, 2012 at 6:41 pm

      Looking forward to more cards this winter with you! Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

