Literary Lacquers rocks Mocks’giving

My youngest niece investigating Literary Lacquers 'Pan Galactic Gargle Glitter' with 'Raspberry Cordial' to its left.

My youngest niece investigating Literary Lacquers ‘Pan Galactic Gargle Blaster’ with ‘Raspberry Cordial’ to its left.

This is clearly the “lets celebrate all my fabulously creative friends” week in the world of Mellissae Lucia. I love to share heartfelt, unique offerings from people who are building their own wonderful lives through going for their dreams. Lisa de St. Croix’s forthcoming Tarot deck was the previous blog, and last night my family and I had a delightful time decorating ourselves with another Santa Fe friends magical offerings.

My oldest niece and sister taking a break to sacredly adorn before returning to meal prep. Note the animal enjoyment of the process.

My oldest niece and sister taking a break to sacredly adorn before returning to meal prep. Note the animal enjoyment of the process.

Amy F. Milder is a glorious mix of a deep devotion to fashion, make-up and nail exploration  combined with the soul of a brilliant scientist. She started reading at two, and is wicked smart while also gooshing over a new eye shadow or the smart little fascinator hat she wore to her wedding. I adore her, and we met when I first moved to Santa Fe and was looking for a massage therapist. We both quickly recognized each others as glamazon mystics who love both the trashy and the highbrow, the frivolous and the deeply profound. Both being intuitives we navigate the world energetically, and see beauty in many unexpected places. We also both wish to make the world a more enchanted place through offering the unique gifts and perspectives we have been given to the collective.

closely considering 'Pan Galactic Gargle Blaster'

Closely considering ‘Pan Galactic Gargle Blaster’

Her love of nail art has now woven together with her love of reading to create her company called Literary Lacquers that offers nail polishes inspired by her favorite books. Online her customers discuss the merits of their own favorite novels while weighing in on the sparkle potency and holographic colors that come out of her hand-made, artisan nail polishes. We can be smart and feminine all at the same time!

Amy and I in Santa Fe

Amy and I in Santa Fe

Amy also has a very positive business model, using all recycles materials to ship her products, and friendly ingredients in the polishes. I had no idea there was an enormous community of specialized, small batch polishes, with a worldwide following collecting these precious concoctions. I love dipping into new communities, and so even though I am not your usual nail blogger, I had a blast beautifying myself with her uniquely designed products.

More animal enjoyment of my sister and niece using 'Mina' purple as the base, and then adding 'Anne with an E" glitter coat over the top

More animal enjoyment of my sister and niece using ‘Mina’ purple as the base, and then adding ‘Anne with an E” glitter coat over the top

Last night my family and I had our pre-funk Mocks’giving to fit in at least two of the best meals ever this fall-Turkey, mashed potatoes, squishy white rolls and GRAVY. On my recent trip to Amy’s mad scientist lab in her Santa Fe garage I got to choose six polishes to bring to the feast and share with my sister and nieces (The men folk wanted to play video games-they missed out!). My oldest niece, who is fifteen, is a nail devotee in her own right. When she busted out her tub of nail implements I recognized many of them from Amy’s house. I now know about nail stamping, and a whole slew of specialized tools to make any design you can image. Last Mocks’giving she hipped me to my favorite gold polish, the limited edition Golden Eye by OPI.

My brother in laws sense of humor

My brother-in-laws sense of humor

My youngest niece, who is nine is also little diva in her own right, and was all over painting her toes two different colors. So here are the photos from our joyful night sacredly adorning our nails with the gorgeous offerings from Literary Lacquers. Go brighten up your own holidays and support the gumption, love and dedication to making the world more beautiful one nail at a time while dipping into a good book.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/LiteraryLacquer

https://www.facebook.com/LiteraryLacquers

Leave a Reply

