14 Fantastico Highlights in images from 2013 to usher in the New Year

Wow was 2013 a wildly creative year. Here is just a sampling of many unpublished photos from my artistic adventures, iPhone in hand with my Hipstamatic lenses and films leading the way.  And keep your eyes open for the modern myths of DreamTime Playhaus to enchant and surprise in the coming year. If there was a longer corresponding Blog post from one of the top 14 I shall offer the link below the text.

Blessings on 2014 and all the collaborations and joy it may offer, and may your stocking be filled with magical, sparkly gold slippers, pomegranates, and chocolate oranges! Mellissae

Stocking Stash

Stocking Stash

1. Infinite Permission shrouded oracle event

Wendy Mulhern and I created a multi-media event to celebrate the release of the Infinite Permission book of her poetry with my illustrations. We had a fabulous and dedicated crew of performers who brought the work alive. I sat, shrouded on the high seat like the Norse Volva Oracles of ancient times and offered visions through reading my Oracle of Initiation cards for the group. The event was one of those experiences that you sense changed your world more than you could ever imagine. Blog Post:

https://mellissaelucia.wordpress.com/2013/02/18/the-oracle-awakens-infinite-permission-embodied/

Shrouded oracle

Shrouded oracle

2. Abandoned Mary House Bones Hipstamatic series

I love abandoned buildings. Finding an easily accessible, outrageously cool old homestead near my canyon has been a dream come true. And then combining bones and old, decaying wall paper with the graffiti covered walls has yielded some of the most satisfying photos I have taken to date. These two being some of my favs.

"Abandoned Mary House Bones-Out" salvador hipstamatic print

“Abandoned Mary House Bones-Out” Salvador hipstamatic print

Abandoned Mary House Bones-Out. On MellissaeLuciaArt Etsy from $30.00

“Abandoned Mary House Bones-Out”

3. Family FUN!

My Family rules. We have a lot of fun, letting our freaks flags fly and having a delightful time  in this thing called life. Blog Post:

https://mellissaelucia.wordpress.com/2013/09/30/my-fun-family-exquisite-corpse-and-barbie-carnage/

A happy lil' brother  with his Christmas present

A happy lil’ brother with his Christmas present

My magical little creatrix niece hammin' it up

My magical little creatrix niece hammin’ it up-and note the Bee reference!

The family that bucks rocks together stays together!

The family that hucks rocks together stays together!

4. Beloved Connie Parriott returning to the other side

Artist Connie Parriott was one of my favorite people. She is dearly missed.

https://mellissaelucia.wordpress.com/2013/06/18/love-to-connie-parriott/

Artist Connie Parriott during her early Belltown days

Artist Connie Parriott during her early Belltown days died this summer and is greatly missed

5. More Salvador lens Hipstamatic JOY!

The Hipstamatic App and I have quite a thing going on. The Salvador lens that my buddy Brian Parks hipped me to has rocked my world. The surreal images that are possible with it have delighted me throughout this year. Lets see what 2014 brings!

Salvador hipstamatic joy taken at the Pendleton Rodeo weekend

Salvador Hipstamatic joy taken at the Pendleton Rodeo weekend

Ellensburg fence line with the salvador hipstamatic lens

Ellensburg fence line with the Salvador Hipstamatic lens

Ellensburg Rodeo arena, 2013 withe the Salvador Hipstamatic lens

Ellensburg Rodeo arena, 2013 withe the Salvador Hipstamatic lens

Discovery Park, Seattle, WA

Discovery Park, Seattle, WA

6. Dark Mother Workshop with the Oracle of Initiation deck

It is such a gift to spend time with brave, vulnerable, heart-felt women opening to themselves and each other. The Dark Mother Workshop was such a gift. I am really looking forward to two more opportunities in March and April 2014 with workshops I will teach in the Northwest to claim your fierceness with the Oracle of Initiation deck’s powerful ability to shine a light on our hidden brilliance. Stay tuned for locations and dates. Blog Post:

https://mellissaelucia.wordpress.com/2013/10/17/dark-mother-workshop-triumph/

Dark Mother Oracle of Initiation divination deck workshop fun with the brave-ass ladies

Dark Mother Oracle of Initiation divination deck workshop fun with the brave, kick-ass babes

What do you have to put in the "Not Me" box? Good times with allowing the Dark Mother to cut away what no longer serves

What would you like to put in the “Not Me” box? Good times with allowing the Dark Mother to cut away what no longer serves

7. Closed my Etsy shop…

Etsy is a really nice merchandising portal. It is well set up, and easy to use, and I have decided to offer a variety of my collages, photographs, limited edition books and The Oracle of Initiation deck on it. Some of the images in this post are for sale there, with prices starting at $25.00 for magic collage prints!

Horse Dancer's collage "Fire Horse" Horse Dancer and Sacred Allies collages, photography including the Painted Body series  and the Psychedelic Farmlands series plus limited edition books and the Oracle of Initiation deck all on MellissaeLuciaArt on Etsy now! Prints starting at $25.00

Horse Dancer’s collage “Fire Horse”

8. Class of 86 Dance Jam birthday partay

Yes, I am stuck in the 80s and early 90s, and since some of the most rocking’ Hip Hop came out of that era I am A-OK with it all. I asked DJ Bruce Pavitt to spin the discs for my birthday this year because he is awesome, and had DJ’d my 18th birthday party. Life is good.

M.T. rocks my world that bad-ass mamajamma!

M.T. rocks my world, that bad-ass mamajamma!

DJ Bruce Pavitt rocked da' haus as he did at my 18th birthday party a *few* years ago

DJ Bruce Pavitt rocked da’ haus as he did at my 18th birthday party a *few* years ago

Yes, we have fun!

Yes, we have fun!

9. Reemergence of my beloved older collage work

Almost a decade ago, when I had been dealt the Tower Card in life and needed a major resurrection I returned to my artistic roots and obsessively collaged again. Out of me flew the Horse Dancer collages, and then the life-size Sacred Allies collages that remain some of my favorite work. Aztec Owl Maiden, Aphrodite, Pan, Rainbow Guide and Khoisan Angel, Ropes to God were such a gift at a time when I needed a council of otherworldly guides to navigate my grief. Now in my new project DreamTime PlayHaus, I am re-enlivening these collages in photos and videos, and I am thrilled to be working with these powerful and ancient friends again.

Sacred Allies collage "Aztec Owl Maiden" re-imagined

Sacred Allies collage “Aztec Owl Maiden” re-imagined for DreamTime PlayHaus

Funkadelic repurposing of my earlier Aphrodite collage

Funkadelic repurposing of my earlier Aphrodite collage

Rainbow Guide Sacred Allies collage newly enlightened

Rainbow Guide Sacred Allies collage newly enlightened

10. Psychedelic Farmlands series in Eastern Washington 

This July in Eastern Washington I was able to honor a magical place I have been working with for over six years as a beautiful, one hundred year old irrigation flume was torn down. I began taking photos with this gorgeous structure almost seven years ago during my Earthen Body photography series, and as fate would have it I saw the handwriting on the wall this July when a backhoe was parked below it, and went every night as they tore it down to document the destruction of this historic place for the Kittitas Valley. Here are some of the Hipstamatic images below of the flume and surrounding farmlands.

Highway 10 Stairway to Heaven Dreamy Psychedelic Farmlands series

“Highway 10 Stairway to Heaven-Dreamy” Psychedelic Farmlands series

Harvest Wheel 1 from the Psychedelic Farmlands series

“Harvest Wheel 1” from the Psychedelic Farmlands series 

"Highway 10 Day 1 of destruction "TinType" Flume"

“Highway 10 Day 1 of destruction “Tinto1884″ Flume”

11. Southwest sojourn back to my beloved New Mexico

Honestly, there are not words for how much I love, and need the Southwest. Something happened for me during those four years in the desert that changed me for forever. I returned this fall to clear out my storage unit in Santa Fe, and created some wonderful art and got my Land of Enchantment hit. Looking forward to seeing the friends I missed this time around next time!

Moab, UT

Moab, UT

Nambe cemetery, NM with my Hipstamatic App

Nambe cemetery, NM with my Hipstamatic App

47. Centered-Oracle of Initiation card on the land it was created on, New Mexico

47. Centered-Oracle of Initiation card on the land it was created on, Abiquiu, New Mexico

12. Chimayo, NM and Baby Jesus’s shoes

Chimayo is one of those off the charts, wonderful places in my life. It has everything from a seasoned old church with a hole of holy dirt in the back, altars to Mary, Jesus, and Santo Nino everywhere, an abandoned house with hidden treasures that I actually wonder if I made it up because it is so cool, a huge  dam covered in graffiti, and a hidden sacred spring. I will write the follow-up Blog post soon to my all-time favorite post about Trespassing, Holy Dirt and Baby Jesus’s shoes, but you may read the back story first in the original post before I bring you to where it all is now. My favorite Blog post ever:

https://mellissaelucia.wordpress.com/2010/02/13/trespassing-consecrating-horses-holy-dirt-and-baby-jesus-shoes/

Chimayo, NM. An enchanted place with holy dirt and baby shoes for Santo Nino

Chimayo, NM. An enchanted place with holy dirt and baby shoes for Santo Nino

20563_1331190520560_1254909232_994252_7787183_n copy

13. Living Tarot Oracle in Durango, Co

Part of my New Mexico sojourn was a reunion with some of my beloved Santa Fe friends. At the tail end of my visit I went up to Durango, Colorado for a potent event called The Living Oracle Tarot. I got to meet with the Moon and the Devil, Death and the Chariot, the Lovers, and the Emperor, all offering Spirit Bee and I wisdom on walking this earth path. See more on the blog post about this interactive divinatory event:

https://mellissaelucia.wordpress.com/2013/11/04/the-magical-living-tarot-oracle-in-durango-colorado/

Artist and deck creator Lisa de St. Croix at the Living Tarot Oracle event in Durango, Co

Artist and deck creator Lisa de St. Croix at the Living Tarot Oracle event in Durango, Co

The Devil from the Major Arcana at the Living Tarot Oracle interactive event

The Devil from the Major Arcana at the Living Tarot Oracle interactive event

14. DreamTime PlayHaus Hip Hoppin’ magic

This is a teaser for the coming year, the video myths are in process, and I can’t wait to share this passion project with you all. It is as silly as it is mysterious and strange, a shamanic Mr. Rogers neighborhood mixed with Das haus de Pee Wee; a little of the cross-dressing clownishness of JP Patches with some krunked up Captain Kangaroo and cosmic Levar from Reading Rainbow; Puff the Magic Dragon’s intoxications with Public access low-tech kiddy shows joy; Characters like the Land of the Lost scary Sleestaks and the erotic Heat Miser from A Year Without Santa Claus; Where the Sidewalk End’s rebelliousness mixed with the grace of Ezra Jack Keats Snowy Day;  Some spooky Edward Gorey style mashed up with the 70s chill of The Courtship of Eddies Father; supernatural Sesame Street superstars with Fat Albert’s down-home funk; a mystical Twin Peaks world meeting Hopi Kachinas and the egg loving Mama Eddie on the road to the 5th world; magicians like Lowly Worm in Richard Scarry’s clockwork worlds creating spells in enchanted tree trunk dwellings of the Wind in the Willows. These are all just analogies y’all, I am creating something totally new, and its gonna be a wild ride where you will NEVER know what is coming next. I feel so blessed to be creating it because when I see my reflection in the face of my iPhone as I am filming it, I am smiling. That’s a good sign. Follow the Chi as Beatrex Quntanna says. And thanks Koa Nuthun for the quote: Check. Doing it. Cool.

“Don’t bend; don’t water it down; don’t try to make it logical; don’t edit your own soul according to the fashion. Rather, follow your most intense obsessions mercilessly.”

Franz Kafka

DreamTime PlayHaus is Hip Hoppin' ancient Gods and Goddesses in their own contemporary myths to be released soon!

DreamTime PlayHaus is Hip Hoppin’ ancient Gods and Goddesses in their own contemporary myths-to be released soon!

Some of the DreamTime PlayHaus posse in Moab, UT

Some of the DreamTime PlayHaus posse kicking’ it in Moab, Utah

The Patchwork Oracle in her Divining Shack

The Patchwork Oracle in her Divining Shack

Spirit Bee in her jeep from DreamTime PlayHaus

DreamTime navigator Spirit Bee in her jeep

Kaptain K Doppelgangered with the Black Madonna

Kaptain K Doppelgangered with the Black Madonna

Leave a Reply

