Anatomy of a Crowdfunding Campaign Part 9: Success is like Roller Skating

Roller Dancing

I am one week into my 33-day campaign, and it has been an interesting ride since the launch. There have been multiple bee stings, I filmed the Oracle deck at my favorite local haunt called Abandoned Mary House Bones, success is being redefined through roller skating, some hormonal weather hit, I went hiking with goats, and I am trying to find my balance in it all.

Honeybee altar with The Oracle of Initiation cards and Carrie Paris' Magpie Oracle on the hive taken at the Abandoned Mary House Bones location

Honeybee altar with The Oracle of Initiation cards and Carrie Paris’ Magpie Oracle on the hive taken at the Abandoned Mary House Bones

There are multiple reasons I am doing this crowdfunding project. On a very practical level, it is my dream to have a more accessible version of my Oracle of Initiation deck to support more people navigating these intense spiritual times, and I need some help with the $15,000+ cost of this project. I have also come to a place where the discomfort of hiding from the world has outweighed my fears of being seen, so I have undertaken an across-the-boards overhaul of my online presence to welcome more people into my creative offerings.

Collating Deluxe Oracle decks in the canyon

Collating Deluxe Oracle decks in the canyon

On a larger, visionary scale I have chosen crowdsourcing as one of the coming-out platforms for my work because we are in the midst of a cultural revolution redefining how we gather and share resources. Through crowdfunding we are building sustainable new resource systems beyond the old-guard structures of waiting to be sanctified by an elite group of external authority figures. An important part of this process is owning our own power, working together and stepping up bravely to offer our gifts to the broader collective. I am using this entire process as a beautiful experiment to see how well I can stay in the roller-rink flow of this new paradigm of collaborative accomplishment.

rollerskates

Last night I was listening to my friend Jen Eramith’s Akashic Records reading on success in the new economy. I had listened to parts of it previously, and had forgotten how much I loved some of the analogies she shared about redefining satisfaction in the newly emerging economic paradigms. The analogy that really stuck with me was about seeing the new forms of success like roller skating. When one is circling around a rink, it is a continual process, with no actual “finish line.” The experience is the focus, and there will never be an actual completion. You do it because it is fun, and as you go round and round, you work to be in the flow, body, mind and spirit at one with those four rotating wheels. Throughout the activity you may push yourself to new levels by trying more advanced tricks and moves, but overall you are orbiting this contained, circular track, rocking out to Billy Squier or Jaheim, depending on your neighborhood, and enjoying the ride. It is a communal act, and you may bust-a-move with a friend, or flirt with that cute guy, but really you are exploring how your body can glide across the floor on these miraculous wheeled shoes.

Movie Roll Bounce

Movie Roll Bounce

Comparing this roller skating analogy to success in any creative endeavor we undertake,  it really is one big experiment, with flow and allowing being as important as effort and exertion. And most importantly, there is no end. There is no magic “I have arrived” form of achievement, the real measure of fulfillment is internal, and it is gauged by how much fun you had at the rink that day on every level. And I LOVE that. Letting go of externalized ideas of status and recognition, and showing up in your sparkly Xanadu tight-ass satin pants and shaking it with your tribe because it is so much fun.

Lets get physical!

Lets get physical!

I really needed this reminder at this point. I am one week in, and the campaign is 24% funded. In my research on crowdfunding it has been recommended to wait until you are 30-40% funded to reach out more widely to people beyond your sphere so they will trust that the campaign will make it. I have held off from posting the campaign myself on my special interest groups on Facebook, feeling my way along with the balance of allowing and effort.

Magic numbers!

Magic numbers!

My core tribe has been wonderful, many of them posting glowing reviews about the project on Facebook, and this is one of my personal signs of success, respect from your peers. Thanks you guys, you know who you are. There was a really fun magic numbers moment early on too, where the campaign was at $1333, with 13 funders, and 31 days to go. I have Lisa de St. Croix to thanks for the charming digits idea, she lead the way in her successful Tarot de St. Croix campaign with lyrical numbers last fall.

Hiking in the canyon

Hiking in the canyon

After the last six weeks of intensive preparation, I have honestly been tired. Postpartum fatigue hit, along with some lovely hormonal weather, and then I got stung twice. In my world, when the spirit animal that is your namesake marks you, it is a message. On Thursday I was at acupuncture, two days after the launch, having a much-needed treatment to balance the monthly moods, and I got “stung” the first time. Out of over twenty years of acupuncture sessions, this was one of the top ten most intense points I have experienced, and it felt like being punctured by a burning hornet’s stinger. Needless to say this was the “female” channel.

My loyal friend Sadie

My loyal friend Sadie

After another nice cry from that one, I went back out into the sunshine and decided to sit on the bench under a lilac bush and check my email. I had a dress on, celebrating the nice weather, and as I sat down, there it was again, a sharp, seething pain that shot through my entire system like a wild scream. As my beloved Aunt Abby pointed out later, it was on my bee-hind. After the pain from the actual sting subsided, I considered the possible messages of this initiation, and decided to take a little break to regroup. I pulled Tarot cards about the meaning of the stings, and got Death and The Magician, both reversed, reading these as I am being completely reconfigured during this process, and coming into more power with using my sacred tools to share my gifts. (I did have a dream about joyfully writing my obituary). I decided to heed the bee spirits, and let go of the pressure of being bee-hind in this process. I decided to rest, and let myself come forth with my best self to share the deck from a place of vitality, not lack.

Hiking with goats!

Hiking with goats!

As part of this weekends realignment regime, I went and did what relaxes me. I took pictures in magical, interesting locations. I also went hiking in my canyon, enjoying the expansive, gorgeous environment with my pal Sadie. Timing has worked out well for this little break, it has been Memorial Day weekend, and I am getting back to sharing the campaign more widely today. I did keep up with thanking every contributor, posting their WordSwag readings on their Facebook timelines. That has been really fun, choosing people’s individualized card reading from the Oracle deck with their messages printed directly on the image. One of the campaign supporters got the card she was a contributor for in the Oracle book. I love synchronicites, and they look really cool, with the potential to travel. I took the idea from crowdfunding maestro John T. Trigonis, when he did his successful Indiegogo campaign for his film Cerise. During his launch he offered individualized poems for each of his donors posted on their Facebook timelines. People loved them, and he got to share the campaign more widely in a cool, personalized way.

WordSwag divination

WordSwag divination

I still have a large list of things to accomplish, including the continued work on my new mailing list and newsletter. Today I got back on the saddle, and am seeing what new levels I can take this grand experiment to. Thank you again to all of you who have supported this effort in any way, passing on the campaign, reading these posts, donating, and giving me some love on Facebook, in emails, and in texts, it is all so valuable. I am really facing some deep, old stories here, and somedays I feel more vulnerable than others. I need you guys, none of us can do it alone. This week I may even wade into the murky waters of Facebook advertising, I will keep you posted.

WordSwag joy

WordSwag joy

Click here to check out the campaign: igg.me/at/oracleofinitiation

More goat packin'

More goat packin’

 

Leave a Reply

